Virtual reconstruction of Basilica A


There have been six basilicas found to date in Early Christian Nicopolis, which are known in the bibliography on the basis of the order in which they were discovered (Basilicas A – F). They are inside the walls (intra muros), with the exception of mortuary Basilica D, which was near the southeast gate of the Roman fortifications, and Basilica E, which was near the Bay of Vathi. However, given that a large section of the city has not been excavated yet, the above basilicas probably do not represent all of the city’s churches. This hypothesis is supported by the fact that Nicopolis was the seat of the provincial governor of Old Epirus and the archbishop of the same province, with jurisdiction over all the local bishops.

Aerial photo of the walls and Basilicas A and B


Font Resize